top of page

The Best Way to Learn a Language

I’ve recently discovered the best way to learn a language. No, it isn’t doing a couple of Duolingo exercises every few weeks or taking Spanish classes in high school. While these may aid someone in learning a language, we can’t rely on them only to learn a language efficiently. The best way to learn a language is: speaking. At first, this may seem way too simple. But think about it. The only time you speak with Duolingo and in high school language classes is when you’re repeating a phrase or regurgitating what you’ve practiced over and over. These devices only help you to learn the basics of a language and don’t allow you to fully comprehend it. I’ve learned this the hard way. After thinking I was all that for taking four years of IB Spanish in high school, I thought I was good enough to follow conversations. As soon as I got in the real world, however, I discovered how uneducated I truly was. Now this may just be me and my inability to learn languages, but I think to learn the full extent of a language, you have to go beyond the classroom.

But how does one do that as a college student who already has enough going on? Studying abroad. Not only do you get to continue your studies, you also have the opportunity to learn another language by immersing yourself in a new culture. My aunt studied abroad in Germany after taking 5 years of German classes and she told me that the bulk of what she knows came from her time abroad. She also mentioned that the German classes she took previous to going overseas helped her to be more confident in engaging with other German students and professors. So, while you shouldn’t rely on just the things you learned in the classroom, language courses help to establish the basics of the language and allow you to get more out of your experience abroad.

If you’re looking to learn another language but feel confined to your college obligations, studying abroad is the answer you’ve been looking for. Take it from my aunt. Having the ability to have conversations with local people will allow you to learn idioms and nuances about the language that you would never find in a classroom. And don’t be afraid to get some things wrong! The only way you’ll learn is to make mistakes and hope that people understand the context. Speak the language, learn the language, love the language.


Recent Posts
bottom of page